The Highlander’s Stolen Touch (The MacLerie Clan #5) by Terri Brisbin

The Highlander's Stolen Touch (The MacLerie Clan #5) by Terri Brisbin

Ciara Robertson has loved formidable Highlander Tavis MacLerie all her life. She watched, brokenhearted, while he married and lost another. Now, finally of marriageable age, Ciara throws her heart at his feet….

Tavis knows that innocent Ciara thinks she’s in love with him – but she deserves better. Painful experience has proved that he’s a far better warrior than husband, and he’s determined never to marry again.

Her dreams shattered, Ciara accepts another man’s hand. Ordered to take Ciara to her husband-to-be, Tavis is tormented – and tempted – every step of the way…

The Highlander’s Stolen Touch (The MacLerie Clan #5) by Terri Brisbin

This book was one I was excited to read, because these two characters (Ciara and Tavis) have appeared in a previous book, but were much, much younger back then.

The first three books of this series concentrate on the parents’ generation, and now we’ve jumped ahead a decade and a bit, catching up with the eldest child.

Readers who follow this series in order will meet Ciara, the heroine of this book, in book three, when she is only five. I know people have read the series out of order, but I would recommend reading Ciara’s mother’s book before this one.

There are a lot of secrets and lies and half-truths that will make reading The Highlander’s Stolen Touch that much more interesting.

I actually really like how each couple has – and keeps – their own secrets. Brisbin does a great job of creating a series where things are connected, but each book is its own separate, complete story.

I don’t usually venture this far into the past with my romance reading, because the cultural differences are just SO great compared to how we live now. However, there’s just enough of a Middle Ages feel to these books without it being overwhelming, so I enjoy them.

So far, Brisbin has always been able to come up with original issues to keep her characters apart. The stakes are high, as most of the characters are important people in Scotland, and marrying for love is more or less out of the question.

I think this one was perhaps the most balanced of all the author’s books I’ve read, structure-wise. In other books we’re racing to the end and there’s still so much to be resolved. I think with this one I didn’t feel like I was being robbed of the high drama at the end.

The addictive feel of the author’s writing means I binged on book after book in this series, unable to stop. That should tell you how I feel about these books!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.