Zombies or Maria von Trapp?

Since this pandemic began I’ve noticed people tend to go one way or the other with their entertainment choices: fluffy, happy books and movies – or anything to do with a zombie apocalypse.

The Sound of Music has been on TV so many times in the past few weeks I’ve started screaming at the screen (I mean, seriously, why do they hide in the mausoleum thingy at the end when their getaway car is parked Right Next To Them?!).

Warm_bodies-376212

I’m definitely not a zombie apocalypse sort of person, but last night Warm Bodies was on, and even though parts were kind of disgusting, it was also hilarious – and had a romance at the centre of the story!

If you can get past the fact the zombie romantic hero falls in love with the human heroine by eating her dead boyfriend’s brains and seeing his memories, it’s worth your time. I mean, it’s utter silly trash, but maybe we need that at the moment. You’ll even get an appearance by John Malkovich and a happy ending!

Historicals in 2020

I randomly discovered my next book appearing in this article (linked below) today. Am I the only one who didn’t know they did a remake of West Side Story?

This is the first time I’ve been in a promotional piece where The Landowner’s Secret wasn’t the book featured. I feel a little sad that it’s time to move on to the next one!

The Artist's Secret (Brindabella Secrets #2) by Sonya Heaney

Love all things Historical? Here are the historical movies, TV shows and books we’re most looking forward to in 2020.

One Year

Today is the one-year anniversary of Harlequin making me an offer for the manuscript that would become The Landowner’s Secret. A lot has happened since then, and in that time I’ve worked on a number of other books. So much has changed in the past twelve months.

thumbnail_landownerssecret

Just in case you’re interested, here’s the book’s information again:

The Landowner’s Secret

New South Wales, 1885

When Alice Ryan wakes to find thugs surrounding her cottage, on the hunt for her no-good brother, she escapes into the surrounding bush.

It is wealthy landowner Robert Farrer who finds her the next morning, dishevelled, injured, and utterly unwilling to share what she knows. With criminals on the loose and rumours that reckless bushrangers have returned to the area, Robert is determined to keep Alice out of danger, and insists on taking her into his home-despite the scandal it may cause. Convincing her to stay on with him for her own safety, however, is going to take some work.

What Robert doesn’t expect is his growing attraction to the forthright, unruly woman staying in his home. Before either of them can settle into their odd new situation, their home and wellbeing come under threat and they will need to trust each other to survive. But they are both keeping secrets, secrets that have the potential to ruin their burgeoning love, their livelihood … and their lives.

Read the first two chapters.

HarperCollins AU US UK

Amazon AU US UK CA IN

The Artist’s Secret Cover!

I was waiting to get a file from my publisher before I put this up, but The Artist’s Secret, the second book in what is now named the Brindabella Secrets trilogy, has started to appear online for preorders, so I’m sharing it!
I LOVE this cover. It was supposed to be an orangey-red colour, but was changed to blue, and I couldn’t be happier. The scenery in the background looks just like the region the story is set.
I’ll share more preorder links in a few days, but the book’s page on romance.com.au links to Amazon etc.
So, here it is (and the blurb is beneath it):

The Artist's Secret (Brindabella Secrets #2) by Sonya Heaney

Despite their growing attraction, both Peter and Elizabeth have secrets that will come between them.
New South Wales, 1887

Peter Rowe’s life is in the city, but his soul is in Australia’s southern tablelands-a place he’s never seen. Taking the new land manager’s position on the thriving estate of Endmoor is the chance he needs to discover what happened to the family he has never met. What he doesn’t expect to find in the bush is his employer’s talented, beautiful sister.

Elizabeth Farrer’s world is changing rapidly. An artist whose work has begun to gain acclaim, her brother’s marriage has made her redundant in her own home and she intends to leave the country and make a life of her own. Her plans would take her far from her beloved New South Wales, but with the arrival of Endmoor’s newest employee-a man unlike any other she has met-she discovers there might just be a reason to stay right where she is.

Just as they conquer their most difficult obstacles, old prejudices rise up and threaten to keep them apart …

 

Final Days to Buy The Landowner’s Secret for $1.99

Readers in Australia and New Zealand! The Landowner’s Secret is on sale for only $1.99 until the end of the month!

The Landowner's Secret by Sonya Heaney blog-sized

New South Wales, 1885
When Alice Ryan wakes to find thugs surrounding her cottage, on the hunt for her no-good brother, she escapes into the surrounding bush.
It is wealthy landowner Robert Farrer who finds her the next morning, dishevelled, injured, and utterly unwilling to share what she knows. With criminals on the loose and rumours that reckless bushrangers have returned to the area, Robert is determined to keep Alice out of danger, and insists on taking her into his home-despite the scandal it may cause. Convincing her to stay on with him for her own safety, however, is going to take some work.
What Robert doesn’t expect is his growing attraction to the forthright, unruly woman staying in his home. Before either of them can settle into their odd new situation, their home and wellbeing come under threat and they will need to trust each other to survive. But they are both keeping secrets, secrets that have the potential to ruin their burgeoning love, their livelihood … and their lives.

The Week: 17th – 23rd February

This has been a busy week. I’m working hard to get my next book finished by my self-imposed deadline of mid-March; I’ve learnt that I’m the kind of person who needs those deadlines to get things done, even if it gets really stressful near the end!

The Landowner's Secret by Sonya Heaney blog-sized

Here’s another reminder that Australian and Kiwi readers can buy my first book, The Landowner’s Secret, for $1.99 until the end of this month!

Chasing Cassandra (Ravenels #6) (2020) (The sixth book in the Ravenels series) A novel by Lisa Kleypas US Cover 2019

I haven’t had much time to read this week, but I’m working my way through Chasing Cassandra by Lisa Kleypas – which came out on Tuesday – and I’m loving it so far.

Release Day for Chasing Cassandra

Chasing Cassandra, the sixth and final book in Lisa Kleypas’ Ravenels series, is out now!

Chasing Cassandra (Ravenels #6) (2020) (The sixth book in the Ravenels series) A novel by Lisa Kleypas US Cover 2019

Everything has a price . . .

Railway magnate Tom Severin is wealthy and powerful enough to satisfy any desire as soon as it arises. Anything – or anyone – is his for the asking. It should be simple to find the perfect wife – and from his first glimpse of Lady Cassandra Ravenel, he’s determined to have her. But the beautiful and quick-witted Cassandra is equally determined to marry for love – the one thing he can’t give.

Everything except her . . .

Severin is the most compelling and attractive man Cassandra has ever met, even if his heart is frozen. But she has no interest in living in the fast-paced world of a ruthless man who always plays to win.

When a newfound enemy nearly destroys Cassandra’s reputation, Severin seizes the opportunity he’s been waiting for. As always, he gets what he wants – or does he? There’s one lesson Tom Severin has yet to learn from his new bride:

Never underestimate a Ravenel.

The chase for Cassandra’s hand may be over. But the chase for her heart has only just begun . . .

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas returns with the next dazzling romance in the Ravenels series – perfect for fans of Sarah MacLean, Julia Quinn and Eloisa James.

The Week: 10th – 16th February

I SO badly wanted to share my new book cover this week, but I’m still waiting on the high-quality, official version. It’s very, VERY pretty!

I was in two articles for Valentine’s Day:

We asked Romance Authors how they like to spend Valentine’s Day

Romance Authors give their Recommendations for Valentine’s Day Reads

Despite the world’s (and half of Australia’s) media reporting that all the fires in this country are now out, as of yesterday afternoon there were still twenty-four bushfires in my region.

Below is a map from a few hours ago. The grey bits with the blue fire symbols are fires (duh!). The little section with the green ambulance crosses is my city. And I live on the southern side!

It *is* much better, but I’m sick of hearing how great it is that this nightmare summer is over when I still have firefighting aircraft over my house day and night … “Contained” is good news, but “extinguished” would be much better.

20200215_174949

And now the Canberra region has had a landslide! What’s next?!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Cover Love

Harlequin’s Free Reads